Academic structure

Pursuant to Regulation 7(1) of the Monash University (Vice-Chancellor) Regulations, the Vice-Chancellor, by a notice published on the University website or in any other manner determined may establish a sub-faculty of a faculty or establish a school, department, centre or institute as a unit of a faculty or as a separate entity from any faculty.

The below listing is current as of December 2021 and may be altered by the Vice-Chancellor at any time.

Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture

  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Design
  • Department of Fine Art

Faculty of Arts

  • School of Arts and Social Sciences (Malaysia)
  • School of Philosophical, Historical and International Studies
  • School of Social Sciences
  • Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance
  • School of Languages, Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics
  • School of Media, Film and Journalism
  • Better Governance and Policy

Faculty of Business and Economics

  • Monash Business School
  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Banking and Finance
  • Department of Business Law and Taxation
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Econometrics and Business Statistics
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Marketing
  • Centre for Development Economics and Sustainability
  • Centre for Global Business
  • Centre for Health Economics
  • Monash Centre for Financial Studies
  • School of Business Malaysia

Faculty of Education

  • School of Educational Psychology and Counselling
  • School of Curriculum, Teaching and Inclusive Education
  • School of Education, Culture and Society

Faculty of Engineering

  • Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering
  • Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • School of Engineering (Malaysia)
  • Institute of Railway Technology
  • Maintenance Technology Institute
  • Monash Institute of Medical Engineering

Faculty of Information Technology

  • Department of Data Science & Artificial Intelligence
  • Department of Human-Centred Computing
  • Department of Software Systems & Cybersecurity
  • School of Information Technology (Malaysia)

Faculty of Law

  • Castan Centre for Human Rights Law
  • Centre for Commercial Law and Regulatory Studies
  • The Australian Centre for Justice Innovation

Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

  • School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health
  • Eastern Health Clinical School
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • School of Primary and Allied Health Care
  • School of Rural Health
  • Jeffrey Cheah School of Medicine and Health Sciences Malaysia

Sub-Faculty of Biomedical and Psychological Sciences

  • School of Biomedical Sciences (Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute)
  • School of Psychological Sciences (Turner Institute for Brain and Mental Health)
  • ARMI (Australian Regenerative Medicine Institute)

Sub-Faculty of Translational Medicine and Public Health

  • Central Clinical School
  • School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine

Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • School of Pharmacy (Malaysia)
  • PPS- Education
  • Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Faculty of Science

  • School of Atmosphere and Environment (change Earth, Atmosphere and Environment)
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Mathematical Sciences (change to School of Mathematics)
  • School of Physics and Astronomy
  • School of Science (Malaysia)

University Institutes (non-faculty)